Avoid DUI Penalties

Georgia DUI penalties are extremely serious. With the help of an experienced attorney, you may be able to minimize the penalties that follow:

First DUI Within 10 years:

  • $300 to $1,000 fine plus probation and statutory surcharges.
  • Ten days to one year in jail. All but 24 hours may be served on probation.

  • Attend DUI school.
  • If needed, clinical evaluation for substance abuse and treatment.
  • One year probation.

  • One-year license suspension if breath test was not refused and over 21, and upon completion of DUI school may apply for a limited driver's license that is valid for 120 days. After 120 days may have full license reinstated.

  • Under 21 and BAC of .08 percent or more: one-year hard suspension, no limited driver's license.
  • Under 21 and BAC under .08 percent: six-month suspension with no limited driver's license.
  • Forty hours of community service if over 21 years old.

  • Twenty hours of community service if under 21 years old.

Second DUI Within 10 years:

  • $600 to $1,000 fine plus statutory surcharges and probation fees.
  • Ninety days to one year in jail. All but 72 hours may be served on probation.

  • Attend DUI school.
  • Thirty days of community service.

  • Mandatory alcohol evaluation and/or treatment.
  • License plate confiscation. All licenses plates registered to the offender are confiscated by the court and reissued after a limited driver's license or full reinstatement is issued (there is a possible hardship exception).
  • Photo and disposition published in the county legal newspaper.
  • Up to one year probation.
  • Suspension of driver's licenses: All drivers three years, with no limited license for 12 months for Georgia residents.
  • Under 21: possible reinstatement after 18 months and completion of the DUI school and clinical evaluation.
  • 21 and over: Drivers may apply for six-month ignition interlock device after 12 months, if authorized by court order.
  • Clinical evaluation: mandatory minimum 17-week treatment program in order for Georgia licensee to be eligible of a limited driver's license.
  • Ignition interlock device required for eligibility for a limited driver's license after 12 months for drivers 21 and over, if court ordered.

Third DUI Within 10 years (Declared A Habitual Violator):

  • $1,000 to $5,000 plus statutory surcharges and probation fees.
  • 120 days to 12 months in jail; all but 15 days may be served on probation.
  • 30 days community service (240 hours to 250 hours).
  • Alcohol evaluation and/or treatment.
  • Up to one-year probation minus any jail time served.
  • Photo and disposition published in the county legal newspaper.
  • License plate confiscation: All license plates registered to the offender are confiscated by the court and reissued after a limited driver's license or full reinstatement is issued (there is a possible hardship exception).
  • All drivers: Five-year license revocation with no limited license for 24 months for Georgia residents.
  • Under 21: No limited or full driver's license for full 30 months for Georgia residents.
  • 21 and over: Drivers possible probationary license for Georgia licensees after 24 months if DUI school, clinical evaluation and required treatment completed, liability insurance proven and interlock installed for six months.

Fourth DUI Within 10 years:

  • All other requirements stated above.
  • One to five years in jail of which all but 90 days may be served on probation.

  • Twelve to 60 months' probation minus any jail time served.

  • $1,000 to $5,000 fine, plus surcharges and probation fees.
  • Possible seizure and forfeiture of motor vehicle if already declared a habitual violator for three prior DUI convictions and convicted for new DUI.

Learn More About Fighting DUI Penalties In A Free Consultation

At Hollingsworth Trial Lawyers, LLC, in Tucker, we are committed to helping you get a positive outcome in your drunk driving case. Schedule a free initial consultation online or by telephone at 404-454-4108.